Patch Approval Settings

Desktop Central allows you to automate patch deployment from identifying the missing patches and to deploy them on to the required computers. The automation is done irrespective of the patches and applications. There might be cases where you would like to test a critical patch in few computers before rolling it out to the entire network. In such cases, you can choose to approve the patches manually. Only the patches that are approved will be deployed via Automated Patch Management. Patch Approval process can be automated or patches can be approved manually. This section explains you on the following:

Automatic Patch Approval process

By enabling this option all the patches will be marked as "Approved", automatically. You can choose to decline patches if  you do not want a specific patch/application to be scanned. All the missing patches/applications can be deployed via Automated Patch Management.

To enable Automatic Patch Approval Process,

  1. Click Patch Mgmt tab
  2. Under Settings, select Approval Settings
  3. Choose Automatically, against "Approve Patches"  and click Save

You have successfully enabled Automatic Patch Approval process, which means all the patches will be marked as "Approved".

Manual Patch Approval process

By enabling this option, you will have to choose the specific patch/application to be marked as Approved. Only the patches that are approved, can be deployed via Automated Patch Management.

To enable Manual Patch Approval Process,

  1. Click Patch Mgmt tab
  2. Under Settings, select Approval Settings
  3. Choose Manually, against "Approve Patches" and click Save

You have successfully enabled Manual Patch Approval process, which means all the patches will be marked as "Not Approved" by default and you can choose to decline or approve patches.

Change Patch Approval Settings from "Automatic" to "Manual"

When the Patch Approval settings is changed from "Automatic" to Manual mode, users will be provided with the following options:

Retain the Approval status of the Existing Patches

You can choose to retain the existing Approval status of the patches, which means the patches that are marked as "Approved" will be retained as Approved. Patches  that were marked as "Declined" will be retained as "Declined". All the patches that are discovered henceforth will be marked as "Not Approved".

Mark the Existing patches as "Not Approved"

By choosing this option, all the patches other than "Declined Patches" will be marked as "Not Approved".  All the patches that are discovered henceforth will be marked as "Not Approved", you can choose to decline the patches manually.

Change Patch Approval Settings from "Manual" to "Automatic"

When the Patch Approval settings is changed from "Manual" to "Automatic" mode, all the patches except "Declined" patches will be marked as Approved. Patches that are discovered henceforth will be marked as "Approved" automatically.

 

Copyright © 2005-2014, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.
ManageEngine