DeviceExpert Home | Online Demo

Configuration Change Management

Contents

Overview

Monitoring the changes done to the configuration is a crucial function in Configuration Management. DeviceExpert provides convenient change management options. Once the configuration change in a device is detected, it is important that notifications are sent to those responsible for change management. It also provides option to roll-back the changes.

 

DeviceExpert helps in sending notifications in four ways:

 

    1. Sending Email
    2. Sending SNMP Traps
    3. Sending Syslog Message
    4. Generating trouble Tickets
    5. Rolling back to the previous version or the baseline version

 

And these notifications can be sent whenever there happens a change in

 

 

How to set up Change Management?

 

Setting up Change Management is a simple, three-step process:

 

    1. Provide a name for the Change Management Rule
    2. Choose Change Management condition
    3. Specify the action

Providing a name for the Change Management Rule

This step deals with just providing a name and description for the intended change management rule. 'Change Management Rule' here refers to the condition based on which you would like to get the notification. As stated above, notification could be triggered when startup and/or running configuration of a device undergoes a change. You may provide names such as "Startup Config Changed', "Running Config Changed". This would be of help in identifying the rule and for reusing it for other devices later.

 

To provide a name,

 

 

Choosing Change Management Condition

 

Click any one of the radio buttons -

 

 

Specifying the action

 

After defining the condition in the previous step, you can specify any of the following three actions:

 

 

Sending Email Notifications

 

To send email notifications to the desired recipients (based on the change management condition specified earlier),

 

    1. Click the checkbox "Send Email Notification"
    2. Enter the Email ids of the intended recipients. If you want to send the notification to multiple recipients, enter the ids separated by a comma. By default, the Email ids configured through Admin >> Mail Settings page are displayed here. You may add new Email ids if required
    3. Provide a subject for the notification and the actual message in the respective fields. Here, in the subject and message fields, you have the option to provide details such as Device Name, IP, type of configuration that underwent change (startup/running), and who changed the configuration
    4. For this purpose, DeviceExpert provides replaceable tags  - $DEVICENAME, $DEVICEIP, $CONFIGTYPE and $CHANGEDBY. You may use these tags to provide exact details in the subject and message fields of the notification.

      Example:
      $CONFIGTYPE of $DEVICENAME changed

      Explanation:
      If the $CONFIGTYPE is "Running Configuration" and $DEVICENAME is "Primary Router", the actual message in the notification would be "Running Configuration of Primary Router changed". These tags get replaced with the actual values at runtime.
    5. You have the option to append the configuration diff in the message. The difference with the previous version would be pasted in the message field. To enable this option, click "Append Configuration Difference in Message". Click "Save".

 

Sending SNMP Trap

 

SNMP v2 traps could be sent to specific host upon detecting a configuration change. To send SNMP trap to the desired host (based on the change management condition specified earlier),

 

 

 

Note

The SnmpTrapOid will be .1.3.6.1.4.1.2162.100.4.1.2.1

 

Varbinds will include the display name of the device whose configuration has been changed, its IP address, the type of configuration that underwent change - startup or running and the login name of the user who changed the configuration.

 

Refer ADVENTNET-DEVICEEXPERT-MIB present under <DeviceExpert Home>/protocol/mibs directory

Sending Syslog Messages

 

A Syslog Message will be sent to the specified Syslog Server if the configuration is changed. Syslog Message will include the config type (CONFIG_TYPE), change type (CHANGE_TYPE), ipaddress (IP_ADDRESS) and changed by (CHANGEDBY).

 

 

 

Note

Syslog Message will include the config type (CONFIG_TYPE), change type (CHANGE_TYPE), ipaddress (IP_ADDRESS) and changed by (CHANGEDBY).

 

 

Generating Trouble Tickets

 

Upon detecting changes in configuration, you have the option to generate trouble tickets to your Help Desk. To generate trouble tickets,

 

    1. Click the checkbox "Generate Trouble Tickets"
    2. Enter the Email id of the help desk. By default, the  Help Desk id configured through Admin >> Mail Settings page are displayed here. You may add new Email ids if required
    3. Provide a subject for the notification and the actual message in the respective fields. Here, in the subject and message fields, you have the option to provide details such as Device Name, IP, type of configuration that underwent change (startup/running), and who changed the configuration
    4. For this purpose, DeviceExpert provides replaceable tags  - $DEVICENAME, $DEVICEIP, $CONFIGTYPE and $CHANGEDBY. You may use these tags to provide exact details in the subject and message fields of the notification.

      Example:
      $CONFIGTYPE of $DEVICENAME changed

      Explanation:
      If the $CONFIGTYPE is "Running Configuration" and $DEVICENAME is "Primary Router", the actual message in the notification would be "Running Configuration of Primary Router changed". These tags get replaced with the actual values at runtime.
    5. You have the option to append the configuration diff in the message. The difference with the previous version would be pasted in the message field. To enable this option, click "Append Configuration Difference in Message". Click "Save"

 

Rollingback Configuration

 

Upon detecting changes in configuration, you have the option to revert to the previous version or to the baseline version. To revert to a configuration version,

 

 

Note:   The rollback feature is for preventing unauthorized configuration changes. So, when you have enabled this feature for a particular device, even a well intended configuration change will also be rolled back. So, if you want to do a genuine configuration change, you need to disable the change management rule.

 

 

Important Note:

 

    1. With the completion of the above step, the rule thus created gets automatically associated with the particular device from whose device details page it was created.
    2. By following exactly the same steps as above, rules can be created from Device Groups page. When doing so, the rule will be automatically associated with all the devices of the group.
    3. The Change Management rule associated with a device/device group can be disassociated anytime from the "Inventory" >> "All Devices" >> "Change Management" GUI.

 

Associating More Rules with a Device/Group

The rules created as above can be associated with other devices/groups. Also, a single device/group can be associated with multiple rules.

 

To associate a single device with a rule/rules,

 

 

To associate a device group with a rule/rules,

 

    1. Go to the "Inventory" >> "Device Group". Click the name of the required device group
    2. In the page that opens up, go to "Change Management" tab and slick "Associate Rules"
    3. In the page that opens up, the names of available rules are listed
    4. Select the rule/rules, which are to be associated with the device group and click "Associate". The rule/rules are associated with the device group. The rule applies to all devices that are part of the group

 

Important Note:
 

If a rule is modified, the change takes effect for all the devices/groups associated with it.

 

Managing Change Management Rules

Disabling, Enabling & Removing a Rule

All the change management rules created in the application can be viewed and managed from the "Admin" tab. You can do actions such as temporarily disabling the execution of a rule, enabling it again later or removing the rule altogether.

 

To manage rules,

 

 

Warning: When you click "Remove", it removes the rule permanently from the database.

 


© 2005-2007, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.