Sites

 

If your organization has various regional offices across the globe, then these offices are configured as Sites in ServiceDesk Plus. The purpose of configuring Sites is to maintain a single ServiceDesk Plus installation irrespective of the location, working hours and IT operations executed in the sites. By configuring Sites, you can restrict technicians from viewing requests, problems, changes and assets of certain sites, organize your IT operations across sites and enable prompt handling of requests raised from different sites.

When you get started with ServiceDesk Plus configurations, the Operational Hours, Holidays, Departments, Business Rules and Service Level Agreements configured is considered as the Default Settings. So while adding sites, you have options to either copy these default settings, refer the default settings, or configure separate settings for the site.

 

Example:

The options – Refer Default Settings and Custom Settings – can be explained better with an example.

Let’s say your head office is in New York, USA and you also have offices in Boston, Washington and Tokyo. The IT operations in the USA region are handled by technicians located in Boston. And the IT operations in Japan are handled by technicians in Tokyo. Assume the office in Tokyo works 6 days a week, while the office in USA region works 5 days a week. The Departments, Business Rules and Service Level Agreements are similar for all the sites. And, you have configured the default settings to suit the USA region.

In ServiceDesk Plus, the offices in New York, Boston, Washington and Tokyo are configured as sites. Since the default settings suit the USA region, you can Refer the Default Settings for the sites – New York, Boston and Washington. When you refer a default setting, the site will not have separate site based configurations i.e., these sites will not be listed in the drop down menu while viewing the settings.

Since the site Tokyo works 6 days a week, you need to customize the operational hours for the site by selecting Custom Settings beside operational hours. The site will be listed in Operational Hours for drop-down box and you can customize the operational hours for the site. 

 

NOTE: Technicians with administrator privilege can add sites in ServiceDesk Plus. The Site Admin has the privilege to view and edit his/her site details. They cannot add nor delete sites in ServiceDesk Plus.

 

To access the Sites configuration page,

  1. Login to ServiceDesk Plus application using the username and password of the admin user.

  2. Click Admin tab in the header pane.

  3. On the Helpdesk block, click Sites icon.

Note: The administrator has the privilege to Add/Edit/Delete a site. The Site Admin can only View/Edit/Delete the sites to which he is associated from the Site List page.  

 

Add Site

  1. In the Site List view page, click Add New Site link on the right hand side corner. The Add New Site form opens.

  2. Enter the Site Name in the text field provided. It is mandatory field.

  3. Enter brief information in the Description field about what your organization does in the above mentioned site.

  4. Select the Region and the Time Zone of the site from the combo box. The specified time zone is essential to calculate the operational hours for the site. Hence, any request raised in the site can be resolved within its operational hours.

  5. Specify the Address of the organization along with City, Postal Code, State and Country.

  6. Enter the Contact Information such as E-mail Id, Phone no, Fax no and the Web URL of your organization.

  7. Enable any of the following related settings,

  8. Let’s take the same example of the 3 offices in the USA region. Since the default settings are configured to suit the USA region, you just need to refer the default settings to the 3 sites.  

    NOTE: Any change made in the default settings, say a new holiday is added in the default list, then the same is reflected in copy default settings. 

    Taking the above example about the office in Tokyo that operates 6 days a week unlike the default operational hours that operates 5 days a week. While adding the site, select Custom Settings beside Operational Hours, after which, you can configure the working days for the site –Tokyo in Operational Hours. 

  1. Click Save button to save the site details and return to the list view. Click Save and add new button to save and add another site. If you wish to cancel the operation then click Cancel.

 

Edit Site

  1. From the site list page, click the edit icon beside the site which you wish to edit. The Edit Site page opens with the existing details.

  2. You can modify all the fields in this page.

  3. Click Save to save the modified changes and return to the list view.

Even while editing a site, if you wish to add a new site, click Save and Add New button. This updates the site and reopens the Add Site form.

 

Delete Site

If the site is being used by a module, the site cannot be deleted. In turn, the site is grayed (marked inactive) to avoid the further usage of the site. If the site is associated to a Requester, Asset, Request Template or Preventive Maintenance task, then you have an option to associate a different site to these parameters.

To delete a site,

  1. Select the site you wish to delete by enabling the check box.

  2. Click Actions drop down -> Delete Site(s) option. A confirmation dialog appears.

  3. Click OK to proceed.

  4. If the Site is associated to a requester, asset, request template or a preventive maintenance task, Change Site association pop up appears listing the parameters to which the site is associated.

  5. To associate these parameters to a different site, select the site from the drop down. By default, not associate to any site is populated.

  6. Click Associate. The parameters are associated to the newly selected site. The site to be deleted is marked inactive and will not be populated wherever site is specified.

 

To bring the site back to active state,

  1. Click the edit icon beside the site name.

  2. From the edit site page, disable Site not for further usage check box.

  3. Click Save to save the site details and return to the list view.

If the site is not used by any module, the site is removed from the site list view.

Auto change of site from inactive to active state:

a. Succeeding an Active Directory import, the grayed out site is automatically changed to the active state.

b. On performing a CSV Import of Users and assets.

c. Adding and Editing requesters associated to the inactive site through API.

d. Editing an inactive site through API.

 

Inactive sites will not be auto activated for the following scenarios:

a. Creating requests through E-mail Command for an inactive site.

b. Creating and Editing Requests, Asset, Technician for an inactive site through API.

 

ServiceDeskPlus - Help Desk and Asset Management Software

Copyright © 2012, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.
ManageEngine