Technician

Technician is a role that you can assign to users who do not need full administrative privileges. When a user is declared as a technician, they are provided with the rights to configure specific areas of RecoveryManager Plus application. A user can be assigned as a technician of a single domain, or multiple domains.

This application allows you to configure technicians of three types:

Admin

When you delegate admin role to the end user, they will have full control over the entire application. An admin has the privilege to modify any setting of RecoveryManager Plus.

Operator

An operator has the privilege to modify the backup settings for that particular domain and to initiate backup sequence. The users with operator role cannot perform any restoration, rollback, or recycle operations.

Auditor

An auditor has the privilege to only view all backup and restoration actions carried out in the domain. The users with auditor role cannot modify backup settings or initiate backup sequence.

You can assign roles to individual users or an AD group.

Assigning technician privileges to a single user

  • Navigate to Admin → Technicians.
  • Click the Add New Technician button.
  • Select the Domain in which you wish to add the technician account.
  • Click Browse to select the users to whom you need to assign the privilege.
  • The pop-up will display a list of all users in that domain. If you need to add users from specific groups, you can use the Filter By Group option at the top of the dialog-box. This will display the list of all groups in the selected domain. Now, select one or more desired groups and then click Get Users to retrieve the names of all users present in those groups. Select the user(s) and click OK.
  • Alternatively, if you know the name of the user, click the icon on the top left corner of the dialog box and key in the name of the user. Select the user and then click OK.
  • Select the role (admin, operator, or auditor) that you wish to assign to the user and click Add.

Assigning technician privileges to an AD group

When a technician role is assigned to an AD group, all users and groups who are members of this group will be able to perform the activities of the role.

  • Navigate to Admin tab > Technicians.
  • Click the Add New Technician button located at the top-right corner of the screen.
  • Select the Domain from the drop-down box.
  • In the Select Technician field, click Browse to select the group to which you need to assign the privilege.
  • In the pop-up that appears, click the Groups tab.
  • Select the group(s) to which you wish to delegate the role and click OK.
  • Select the role (admin, operator, or auditor) that you wish to assign to the members of the group and click Add.

To edit a technician,

  • Navigate to Admin → Technicians.
  • Click the icon located in the Action column of the technician account that you wish to edit.
  • Modify the Delegated Domains and the roles assigned to the technicians for the particular domain.
  • Click Save.

To delete a technician,

  • Navigate to Admin → Technicians.
  • Click the icon located in the Action column of the technician account that you wish to delete.
  • In the pop-up that appears, click Yes to delete the technician account.