Backup settings

This section lists the steps to create backup schedules for your SharePoint and OneDrive sites.

To create a new backup schedule: 

  • Log in to RecoveryManager Plus as an administrator.
  • Navigate to the SharePoint & OneDrive tab → Backup Settings.
  • Click on the Create Backup button located in the top-right corner of the screen.
  • Select the Tenant that contains the SharePoint or OneDrive sites to backup.
  • Provide a name for the backup schedule.
  • Select the sites you want to back up by clicking the icon-add icon in the Select Sites field.
  • In the pop-up that appears, RecoveryManager Plus provides two views to see the list of sites in your Office 365 tenant: Tree View and List View.
    • Tree View is the default view, and it provides a hierarchical view of your site and subsites. Select the sites that you want to back up by marking the checkbox beside the site name. You can also choose to exclude child sites from being backed up by selecting Exclude child site(s). You can also search for particular SharePoint Online and OneDrive for Business sites by their URL or name in the search bar the top.
    • List View lists all the sites and subsites alphabetically. You can search for the sites you want to back up by clicking the icon-search icon. You can select all the sites by selecting the checkbox beside the Title text. You can also use the Site View drop-down menu located in the top-left corner to limit the sites that are shown. The different views available are:
      • All – This view shows all sites in the selected Office 365 tenant.
      • Managed – This view shows the sites that are licensed for RecoveryManager Plus.
      • Unmanaged – This view shows the sites that are not licensed for RecoveryManager Plus.
      • Note: You can configure a site for backup regardless of whether the site is licensed or not, but attempting to backup unlicensed sites will fail. Make sure that all sites selected for backup are licensed.

  • Click OK when you’ve selected all the sites you want to back up.
  • Select the desired frequency at which the schedule must run from the options available:
    • Daily - Scheduler will run once every day at the scheduled time.
    • Weekly - Scheduler will run once every week on the specified day and time.
    • Monthly – Scheduler will run once a month on the specified date and time.
  • Select the repository in which you wish to store the backups from the drop-down menu.
  • In the Retention Period field, enter the number of days/months/years for which SharePoint/OneDrive backups should be stored. Backups older than the specified age will be discarded. If you've set the retention period to 30 days, when the backup schedule runs on day 31, the backups made on day one will be discarded. To learn more about how RecoveryManager Plus processes the retention period, click here.
  • You can also configure RecoveryManager Plus to store your SharePoint/OneDrive backups forever, in which case backups will not be discarded.
  • Note: The minimum retention period for SharePoint/OneDrive backups is 30 days.

  • Click Save to save the scheduler, and the backup will run at the specified time.
  • Click Save & Run to save the scheduler and trigger the first backup process immediately.
  • Click Cancel to exit the configuration screen.

Once a schedule has been created, you can view the following information:

  • The name of the schedule.
  • The repository in which the backups will be stored.
  • The frequency at which the schedule will run.
  • The number of sites that will be backed up by the schedule in the No. of sites field. Clicking on the number will open a pop-up that lists the sites that will be backed up when the scheduler runs.
  • The set retention period.
  • The last time the schedule ran. Clicking on the icon-history icon will open the restore tab, displaying all backups made by the scheduler. You can restore sites to any of the backed up versions. For step-by-step instructions on how to restore mailboxes, click here.
  • The status of the last backup (success or failure). Clicking on the View Details link will provide the steps that the product performed and the status of each step. Finding out the step at which the schedule failed will assist in troubleshooting any issue that the product might encounter.

Once you’ve configured a backup schedule, you can perform the following actions:

  • Edit the backup schedule.
  • Enable or disable the backup schedule.
  • Manually trigger a backup.
  • Delete the backup schedule.

Edit the backup schedule.

  • To edit the backup schedule, click the icon-edit icon under the Actions column of the corresponding backup schedule.

Enable or disable the backup schedule.

  • Click the icon-enable / icon-disable- icon under the Actions column of the backup schedule that you wish to enable or disable.

Manually trigger a backup.

  • Click the icon-quick-backup icon under the Actions column of the backup schedule to trigger a backup.

Delete the backup schedule.

  • Click the icon-delete icon under the Actions column of the backup schedule that you wish to delete.
  • In the pop-up that appears, select if you'd just like to delete just the backup schedule or permanently delete all backup data along with the schedule, and click OK.
Get download link