# Associating Profiles to Devices Last updated: August 14, 2026 This page explains how to associate and disassociate MDM profiles with enrolled devices using Mobile Device Manager Plus. Administrators can assign multiple published profiles to devices by platform, with iOS profiles applying immediately upon association, Android profiles requiring end-user acceptance, and Windows profiles applying on next server contact. The page also covers how to remove profiles from devices or groups, and clarifies that removing a device from a group does not automatically uninstall its associated profiles. MDM profiles can be associated with devices. A managed device can have more than one profile associated to it. To associate a profile to the device: 1. On the web console, navigate to **Groups and Devices**. ![Associate Profile Device - ManageEngine MDM](https://www.manageengine.com/mobile-device-management/help/images/associate_profile_device.png) 2. Select the **Devices** tab. This will list all the devices that have been enrolled. ![Associate Profile Device And - ManageEngine MDM](https://www.manageengine.com/mobile-device-management/help/images/associate_profile_device_and.png) 3. Select the devices based on the platform to which you want to associate a profile and click **Associate Profile**. You can view the associated devices by navigating to Profiles > Associated Device section. ![Associate Profile Device View - ManageEngine MDM](https://www.manageengine.com/mobile-device-management/help/images/associate_profile_device_view.png) The **Available Profiles** will list all the profiles that have been published. If you have modified a profile and published it, only the latest version of the profile will be listed here. Select the profiles that you wish to associate and move them to **Added Profiles**, then click **Save Changes**. If you select Android devices, only Android profiles will be listed when you click Associate Profile, and vice versa. You will not be able to select multiple devices with different platforms while associating any profile. When a profile is associated with any device, the profile gets applied automatically if the device is reachable. Any time a profile is removed from a managed device, all the restrictions applied to it will be removed automatically. If a profile was associated with a group and a new device is added to a group via enrollment, the new device will get all the profiles associated with it automatically. Similarly, if any device to which a profile has been applied is removed from the group, the installed profile will not be removed automatically. When a profile is associated with an **iOS device**, the profile gets applied to the device immediately. When a profile is associated with an Android device, the profile will be listed under Policies and Restrictions tab in the managed mobile device. The end user needs to accept the profile within a time specified by the system administrator. If the end user accepts the profile, it will be listed under **Imposed Policies**. If the end user does not accept the profile, it will be listed under **Violated Policies**. When a profile is distributed to a Windows device, it will not be applied immediately. Profiles will be applied to the devices only when the device contacts the Mobile Device Manager Plus server. As soon as the profile is distributed, the status will be updated as initiated; the status will be modified only when the mobile device reaches the Mobile Device Manager Plus server. ## Disassociating Profiles from Devices You can disassociate the profile from the groups. When you disassociate a profile from the group, all the restrictions applied using that profile will be reverted from the devices. You can disassociate a profile from the devices by following the steps below. ### From Device Management -> Groups and Devices 1. On the web console, navigate to **Groups and Devices**. 2. Select the **Devices** tab. 3. Click the name of the **Device** and choose the **Profile** that you want to disassociate. 4. Click the **Disassociate Profile** button or click the **X** icon available in the Action column to disassociate the profile from the device. ![Disassociate Profile Device - ManageEngine MDM](https://www.manageengine.com/mobile-device-management/help/images/disassociate_profile_device.png) ### From Device Management -> Profiles 1. On the web console, navigate to **Profiles**. 2. Select the **Profile Name**. 3. Click the **Associated Device** tab and choose the **Device** from which you want to disassociate the profile. 4. Click the **Action** button and choose the **Disassociate** option, or click the **X** icon available in the Action column to disassociate the profile from the device. ![Disassociate Device From Profile - ManageEngine MDM](https://www.manageengine.com/mobile-device-management/help/images/disassociate_device_from_profile.png) As soon as a profile is disassociated from the group or devices, all the restrictions that have been applied using the profile will be reverted automatically. ## Frequently Asked Questions ### 1. Can I associate a profile to devices running different platforms at once? No. You cannot select multiple devices with different platforms while associating a profile. If you select Android devices, only Android profiles are listed, and vice versa. ### 2. When does an associated profile actually get applied to a device? For iOS devices, the profile is applied immediately once associated. For Android devices, the profile is listed under Policies and Restrictions on the managed device, and the end user must accept it within the specified time. For Windows devices, the profile is applied only when the device next contacts the Mobile Device Manager Plus server. ### 3. What happens if an Android user doesn't accept an associated profile? If the end user accepts the profile, it is listed under Imposed Policies. If the user does not accept it, the profile is listed under Violated Policies. ### 4. Does removing a device from a group also remove its profiles? No. If a device to which a profile has been applied is removed from a group, the installed profile is not removed automatically; it must be disassociated manually.