This document explains you on the recommend settings for configurations. Any configuration, when deployed to an OU/Group will have its target modified, whenever a computer is moved into the OU/Group. So, the newly added computers will have to get the configurations, which were applied for the OU/Group. You can choose to specify the frequency for the deployment to happen. You can also specify the time interval to automatically move the unused configurations to trash. Configurations moved to the "Trash" will remain there forever until, you choose to delete them manually. Follow the steps mentioned below to configure the settings:
A configuration is said to be unused, based on the criteria explained below:
If the configuration is not modified and there is no change in the status of the configuration
If the configuration creation date exceeds a specified time period and there is no change in the status of the configuration
If the configuration was deployed to be applied once and it has been applied on all chosen targets
You can specify a time interval for all the unused configurations to be moved to Trash. Whenever a configuration has been deleted manually, the configuration will be moved to Trash View. Configurations removed from the Trash View cannot be retrieved.
Note: Configurations which are set to be deployed during "every statup/logon", Alerts & collections will not be moved to trash.