Defining Inactive Users

 

The configurations that are defined for users gets applied during the user logon. There may be cases where the user accounts have been created for some machines but they remain inactive for some reasons. These user accounts are referred to as inactive users. In order to get the accurate configuration status of the active users, it is recommended that the administrator add the inactive user accounts in their domain so that these users (user accounts) may not be considered for calculating the status.

Desktop Central, by default adds the following users to the inactive users list:

Adding Inactive Users

To add inactive users, follow these steps:

  1. Click Admintab to invoke the Admin page.
  2. Click the Add Inactive Users link in the Admin Links pane. This invokes the Add Inactive User page with the list of
  3. Click the icon to open the Resource , select the users and click OK.
  4. Click the Add.

The added users gets added to the List of Inactive Users table.

Top

Inactive User Policy

Apart from adding the inactive users manually, you can also define a policy to add inactive users based on the number of days  the user account was inactive. By default, all the user accounts that remain inactive for 60 days are automatically added to the inactive users list. To modify or disable this policy, follow the steps below:

  1. Follow the steps Step 1 and Step 2 of Adding Inactive Users.
  2. Select Set User Policy tab.
    1. To modify, change the number of days and click Change Policy. Click OK to confirm.
    2. To disable the policy, clear the check box and click Change Policy. Click OK to confirm.
  3. The inactive users list gets updated according to the new policy.

Revoking Inactive Users

Inactive user will be made as active user automatically by Desktop Central as soon as it finds any of the inactive user logs in a system.

To revoke inactive users manually, follow these steps:

  1. Follow the steps Step 1 and Step 2 of Adding Inactive Users.
  2. The list of inactive users are listed in the List of Inactive Users table. Click the icon under the Actions column of the corresponding user to move it to active users. Click OK to confirm.

The user gets deleted from the List of Inactive Users table.

Copyright © 2019, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.
ManageEngine