Mac Restrictions

Restrictions lets you force enable/disable essential device functionality settings, security settings, iCloud settings, and Classroom settings on managed mac machines, according to your organization's requirements. This is to achieve higher productivity, without compromising on data security.

The status of restrictions imposed using MDM will be shown under 'Device Details' view. When no restrictions are set on a mobile device using MDM, then by default, the status will be displayed as 'Allowed'.

Profile Settings

Supported macOS Version

Description

DEVICE FUNCTIONALITY

Camera

10.11 and above

Camera can be completely restricted along with FaceTime.

Screenshot and Screen Recording

10.14.4 and above

Allowing users to capture the screenshot of the display.

Spotlight Internet Search

10.11 and above

Allowing users to use Spotlight Search to find content directly from internet.

Content caching

10.13 and above

Allow content caching to be setup for downloading the content from the nearest machines instead of the Apple Services

Dictionary word lookup

10.11.2 and above

Allowing the built-in mac dictionary to retrieve words.

Music

10.12 and above

Disabling Apple Music on user's Mac

Auto unlock devices with Apple Watch

10.12 and above

Prevent users from using their paired Apple Watch to automatically unlock their Mac.

Handoff

10.12 and above

Enabling this option will allow you to resume an existing work/access a content from any device which is logged in using the same icloud account.

SECURITY

Use bio-metric methods such as TouchID and/or FaceID to unlock devices

10.12.4 and above

Allowing user to unlock the device using fingerprints/facial recognition

iTunes File Sharing

10.13 and above

Prevent users from using iTunes to share content between their Apple devices.

Autofill passwords in Safari and apps

10.14 and above Prevent autofill in browsers and apps.

Share passwords with devices in proximity

10.14 and above Restricting this setting will ensure that the device is not notified to share it's passwords with devices in proximity.

Request passwords from devices in proximity

10.14 and above Restricting this setting will ensure that the device cannot request devices in proximity to share their passwords.

Configure Gatekeeper to allow downloads only from

10.8 and above Gatekeeper is a security feature that verifies downloaded apps before running them on Mac machines. Admin can select the type of apps that should be allowed to run on the Mac. Admins can choose from App Store, App Store and identified developer, or even unidentified sources.

Allow users to override Gatekeeper settings

10.8 and above Restricting this setting will ensure the users do not override Gatekeeper settings configured by the admin.

iCLOUD

Sync data & documents from managed apps

10.11 and above

Enabling the syncing of all managed apps.

Sync Keychain

10.12 and above

Enabling Keychain data such as accounts, passwords and credit card information on a device to be synced and kept up-to-date.

Sync Desktop & Documents

10.12.4 and above

Allowing users to sync the files on their Desktops and Documents folders

Sync Bookmarks

10.12 and above

Allowing users to sync their browser Bookmarks with iCloud

Sync Mail

10.12 and above

Allowing users to sync their mails with iCloud

Sync Notes

10.12 and above

Allowing users to sync their notes with iCloud

Sync Calender

10.12 and above

Allowing users to sync their calender with iCloud

Sync Reminders

10.12 and above

Allowing users to sync their reminders with iCloud

Sync Contacts

10.12 and above

Allowing users to sync their contacts with iCloud

Sync Photo Library

10.12 and above

Allow users to sync their photos with iCloud

CLASSROOM (Applicable if Classroom 2.0 app is installed on the Teacher devices)

Automatically join classes without prompting

10.14.4 and above

Enabling this ensures the student devices mandatorily auto-join the classes, without any notification/prompt on the device.

Allow teachers device to lock apps and devices without prompting

10.14.4 and above

Enabling this ensures the teacher can either fully lock the student device or lock specific apps on the device, without any notification/prompt on the device.

Allow AirPlay and screen viewing by teachers device

10.14.4 and above

Enabling this allows the teacher to view the student device screen, after notifying/requesting permission s to do the same from the user.

Allow teachers device to AirPlay and view screen without prompting

10.14.4 and above

Enabling this allows the teacher to view the student device screen, without any notification/prompt on the device.

Teacher's permission required before leaving a classroom

10.14.4 and above

A student must request permission from the teacher before leaving a classroom.

See Also: Associating Profiles to Groups, Associating Profiles to Devices, App Management, Distribute Apps to Devices, Distribute Apps to Groups
Copyright © 2019, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.
ManageEngine