Disable/Delete User Mailbox


To delete an user's Exchange Mailbox, either the mailbox can be deleted or the user account associated with it can be deleted from the Active Directory which will render the mailbox unusable.


 

    In Exchange 2003, deleting a mailbox only marks the mailbox for deletion and it will remain in the store until,
  1. The mailbox contents are backed up, or
  2. The number of days mentioned in the 'keep deleted mailboxes for x days' setting elapses, after which the mailbox and its contents will be deleted completely.


    In Exchange 2007 & Exchange 2010, the mailbox can be
  1. Disabled: removes its Exchange attributes and its association to an user account which continues to exist but cannot use the disabled mailbox. The mailbox will be completely deleted as per the deleted items retention policy.

  2. Removed (Deleted): the mailbox is dissociated from the user account and the user account is removed from the Active Directory. Based on the deletion policy, the mailbox is either deleted immediately or after the specified time.


Procedure
    You can either
  1. Select the mailbox(s), using the user name or the user account to which the mailbox is associated and delete/disable the mailbox, or
  2. Delete the user account, to which the mailbox is associated, from the Active Directory.

Steps:

You can user either 'Disable/Delete User Mailbox' option or 'Delete Users' option to disable/delete an Exchange Mailbox.

Disable/Delete User Mailbox

  1. Click on 'AD Mgmt'.
  2. Click on 'User Management' --> 'Exchange Tasks' --> 'Disable/Delete Mailbox'
  3. In the Disable/Delete User Mailbox screen, choose an Exchange Server.
  4. Based on the version of the Exchange Server selected, the options available vary.
    1. If Exchange 2003 is selected, only the 'Disable User Mailbox' option is shown.
    2. If Exchange 2007 or Exchange 2010 is selected, there are options to 'Disable User Mailbox', 'Disconnect User Mailbox', 'Delete User Mailbox'.

    Note:

    In Disable Mailbox option, the corresponding user account(s) continue to exist whereas in Disconnect, Delete User Mailbox options, the user account(s) is deleted from the Active Directory.



  5. Select the 'domain'.
  6. You can either enter the user name(s) to search/locate the user(s) or import the list of users whose mailboxes have to be deleted or disabled.
  7. Click 'Apply' to complete the Mailbox Disable/Delete process.
Delete the User(s)

  1. Click on 'AD Mgmt' tab.
  2. Click on 'User Management' 'Bulk User Modification' 'Delete Users'.
  3. Select the 'Domain' in which the user account(s) to be deleted is located.
  4. You can specify the user account(s) to be deleted using any of the following ways:
    1. Locate the user account(s) to be deleted by searching form them using the search option
    2. Specify the list of user account(s) to be deleted using the 'CSV Import' option. Using this option, the '.CSV' file that contains the list of user account(s) can be imported into ADManager Plus.

    Note:

    Before using the 'Delete Users' option, in the 'Delete Policy', select the 'Delete User Mailbox Permanently' option by clicking on 'Admin' tab --> 'Custom Settings' --> Selecting the 'Delete User Mailbox Permanently'



  5. Click 'Apply' to delete the User Account(s) from the Active Directory.
  6. You can either enter the user name(s) to search/locate the user(s) or import the list of users whose mailboxes have to be deleted or disabled.
  7. Click 'Apply' to complete the Mailbox Disable/Delete process.


Before using the Disable/Delete User Mailbox Option, please ensure:


a)   64 bit Edition of ADManager Plus should be installed on a compatible Machine. (You can find the architecture of the existing installation from the "Product.conf" file located at \ManageEngine\ADManager Plus\conf). Link to download 64 bit Edition of ADManager Plus : specify the link

b)   The Exchange Management Console must to be installed on the same machine where ADManager Plus is installed.