General - How To's

Which files can I delete from the folders in the Desktop Central Server to increase space?

Description

Desktop Central requires a certain amount of free disk space to function effectively. Ideally you should have atleast 5 GB of free disk space in the drive, in which you install the Desktop Central server. You should check the size of your folders periodically. When the size exceeds the limit, you should delete unwanted files, as lack of space could affect the creation of logs and application of patches and service packs.

This document gives you information about which files can be deleted.

Steps

  1. To increase the free disk space, it is recommended to configure the "Patch Cleanup Settings". This will help you to automate the process of removing patches that are superseded or older than a specified period of time. Refer to this, to know more about configuring Patch Cleanup Settings
  2. To increase the free disk space, it is recommended to configure the "Configuration Settings". This will help you automate the process of moving unused configurations to trash. A configuration is said to be unused if there is no change in the status of the configuration or if the configuration has not been modified for a specified number of days.
  3. You can delete the following to increase space in the disk in which the Desktop Central server is installed:
    1. Navigate to the Desktop Central server folder. For example, C:\Program Files\DesktopCentral_Server
    2. Delete the following files in the folders given below:

      Note: Ensure that you stop the Desktop Central server before deleting anything. It is recommended that you keep the last backup file in each of the folders mentioned below.

      Folder path: DesktopCentral_Server>\bin\. Delete the following files:

      • Zipped log files: This comprises files that were sent to the support team. The name of the file is DesktopCentral_Logs.zip
      • Heap profiler (.hprof) files: These files are created during a server crash and contain heap dump of the process at the time of failure. For example, java_pid9448.hprof.
      • MiniDump (.mdmp) files : These are compressed files created after a native crash and contains data dumped from the program's memory space.
      • Null folders: Folders with the name null

      Folder path: <DesktopCentral_Server>\PatchBackup\. Delete the following folders with names that include the following:

      • <BuildNumber-TimeStamp>. For example, <70137-Feb-22-2011-15-10>. These folders are created when desktopcentral server is upgraded.
      • Retain the folder with the previous build number

      Folder path: <DesktopCentral_Server>\Patch\. Delete the following folders with names that include the following:

      • <ManageEngine_Desktop_Central-BuildNumber>. For example, <ManageEngine_Desktop_Central-10.0.0-SP-252>. These folders are created when desktopcentral server is upgraded.
      • Portable Pixmap Format file (.ppm) with the same name
      • Retain the folder with the previous build number

      You will now have more space in the drive where the Desktop Central server is installed.

  4. Note: You can also change the storage location to another driveshare to increase space in the disk in which the Desktop Central server is installed. Refer the below mentioned links for more information.
    1. To change the Patch Store location to another driveshare - (under modifying patch store location) https://www.manageengine.com/products/desktop-central/help/patch_management/viewing_downloaded_patches.html
    2. To change the Software Repository location to another driveshare - https://www.manageengine.com/products/desktop-central/help/configuring_desktop_central/edit_network_shared_path.html#Changing-location-HTTP-repository
    3. To Change the Desktop Central Database Backup directory - follow the steps mentioned below.
      1. Click Admin Tab
      2. Select Database Backup under Database Settings
      3. Change the location to backup the the data against Backup directory ( This directory can either be in the same computer or a shared directory of a different computer in the network.