Solutions de gestion BYOD

La gestion BYOD est le processus consistant à définir des stratégies permettant aux organisations de tirer parti en toute sécurité de la tendance croissante à l'usage des appareils personnels (BYOD). Pour simplifier la gestion BYOD, les organisations doivent veiller à établir une stratégie bien définie ou déployer des solutions dédiées.

Le BYOD se répandant dans divers secteurs, il importe pour elles de comprendre comment faciliter sa gestion et protéger les données professionnelles sur des appareils personnels grâce à solution BYOD de ManageEngine, Mobile Device Manager Plus.

Ce guide du BYOD couvre les points suivants :

Pourquoi gérer les appareils personnels ?

Bien que les appareils mobiles et la culture BYOD contribuent à améliorer la productivité du personnel, cela accroît aussi le risque d’une violation de données, ces appareils étant sujets à la perte ou au vol. De plus, le matériel personnel peut ne pas offrir le même niveau de sécurité qu’un appareil géré par l’entreprise. Les administrateurs informatiques doivent veiller à établir les stratégies de sécurité requises et empêcher les utilisateurs d’accéder aux données de l’entreprise sur des appareils non autorisés. La gestion des appareils personnels ou BYOD joue un rôle clé à cet égard.

Gestion avec des stratégies BYOD

Les organisations prévoyant d’adopter le BYOD doivent analyser tous les enjeux qu’il présente et définir un plan d’action pour exécuter une stratégie BYOD en leur sein afin de protéger les données auxquelles on accède sur des appareils personnels.

La stratégie BYOD expose des points critiques en termes de sécurité comme le type d’appareils qu’approuve l’organisation, les employés qui peuvent en utiliser et les données accessibles sur ces appareils. La réussite de l’adoption du BYOD dans une organisation dépend complètement de la façon dont elle conçoit et met en place sa stratégie BYOD.

Gestion avec une solution BYOD

L’élaboration d’une stratégie BYOD permet à l’organisation de renforcer la sécurité des appareils, mais il est aussi essentiel qu’elle prenne des mesures pour la gestion BYOD. Une gestion BYOD complète exige de prendre des mesures quant à l’intégration des appareils, pour s’assurer qu’ils possèdent les stratégies, les applications et le contenu nécessaires, résoudre les problèmes, gérer les mises à jour du système d’exploitation et désaffecter les appareils lorsque l’utilisateur quitte l’organisation. La croissance du nombre d’organisations adoptant le BYOD rend sa gestion aussi vitale que celle des appareils professionnels. Grâce à un outil BYOD, ou une solution de gestion des appareils mobiles (MDM) pour le BYOD, les organisations peuvent gérer les appareils personnels des employés et approuver ceux pouvant accéder aux données. La plupart des solutions MDM offrent aussi des fonctions de sécurité pour améliorer la sécurité des données de l’entreprise sur des appareils BYOD.

Comment gérer les appareils personnels ?

Élaborer une stratégie BYOD et informer le personnel au sujet des bonnes pratiques BYOD aide à réduire les risques de violation de données et d’accès non autorisé, mais les organisations doivent aussi examiner la gestion globale des appareils personnels. La meilleure façon de gérer une configuration BYOD consiste à utiliser une solution de gestion dédiée (MDM pour le BYOD). Une telle solution dote les organisations d’une console unifiée pour intégrer les appareils, appliquer des stratégies de sécurité, diffuser des applications approuvées et partager le contenu exigé. Elle permet aussi aux administrateurs informatiques de faciliter la mise à jour et la désaffection des appareils lorsqu’un employé quitte l’organisation en veillant à effacer toutes les données de l’entreprise des appareils.

Mobile Device Manager Plus de ManageEngine est une solution de gestion des appareils mobiles (MDM) offrant aussi des fonctionnalités BYOD pour doter les organisations d’une console unifiée afin de gérer en toute sécurité les appareils professionnels et personnels.

Comment protéger les appareils personnels avec Mobile Device Manager Plus ?

Mobile Device Manager Plus (MDM) est une solution complète de gestion des appareils mobiles qui peut aussi servir à des fins de gestion BYOD. Les organisations simplifient ainsi le suivi des appareils professionnels et personnels dans la même console. De plus, elle leur permet d’améliorer la sécurité BYOD en protégeant les données d’entreprise stockées sur ces appareils. Les fonctionnalités suivantes de Mobile Device Manager Plus aident à relever les défis de la gestion et la sécurité BYOD.

Intégration simple et rapide

La solution fournit des méthodes d’intégration adaptées pour faciliter l’inscription. L’administrateur informatique doit envoyer une invite d’inscription par courrier électronique ou SMS, les employés suivant les instructions pour enregistrer leurs appareils en quelques minutes. La solution BYOD garantit l’ authentification de l'utilisateur avant d’intégrer l’appareil. L’authentification s’effectue à l’aide des identifiants Active Directory (AD) de l’employé ou simplement via un mot de passe à usage unique (OTP), ou les deux. Une autre option réside dans la méthode d’auto-inscription, les employés inscrivant alors leurs appareils en cliquant sur le lien prévu dans le forum public ou le portail en libre-service de l’organisation. De plus, la solution peut gérer facilement divers appareils, plusieurs plateformes iOS, macOS, tvOS, Android, Windows 10 et Chrome OS) et différents types d’appareil (smartphones, tablettes, ordinateurs portables et postes de travail) dans la même console.

Gestion efficace des appareils personnels

Les organisations utilisent une variété d’appareils professionnels et personnels, ce qui oblige les administrateurs informatiques à configurer une série distincte de stratégies pour chaque catégorie. Cela peut devenir fastidieux si on gère un grand nombre d’appareils. La solution permet de réunir des appareils personnels en groupes pour appliquer aisément desh stratégies précises et diffuser des applications. On assure ainsi une séparation nette entre la gestion des appareils professionnels et personnels. Une fois la stratégie définie, chaque fois que l’administrateur informatique doit gérer un appareil personnel, il lui suffit de l’ajouter au groupe et toutes les stratégies s’y appliquent automatiquement. En cas de transfert de l’employé vers un autre service, on peut associer l’appareil à un groupe différent relevant du service, ce qui révoque automatiquement les stratégies appliquées auparavant et en instaure de nouvelles sur l’appareil.

Sécurité des données d’entreprise et respect de la confidentialité

La solution permet d’isoler les données de l’entreprise en créant un conteneur logique qui sépare les données professionnelles et personnelles stockées sur des appareils. L’administrateur ne peut que contrôler les données de l’entreprise sur les appareils, ce qui laisse intactes celles personnelles de l’employé. Les organisations peuvent limiter le partage non autorisé de données d’entreprise entre des applications professionnelles et personnelles, des appareils non autorisés et des applications/services tiers. L’utilisation d’une solution MDM pour la gestion BYOD permet aux données de l’entreprise et personnelles de coexister sur des appareils. Les données de l’entreprise sont aussi chiffrées et stockées dans les conteneurs à des fins de sécurité. En savoir plus sur la conteneurisation dans Android et la conteneurisation sur des appareils iOS.

Corporate container to segregate corporate and BYOD apps on bring your own device

Préconfiguration de stratégies d’accès et de sécurité

La solution permet de prédéfinir des configurations de base pour le Wi-Fi, courrier électronique, Exchange ActiveSync (EAS), notamment, sur les appareils. On gagne du temps et favorise la productivité du personnel. MDM permet aussi d’appliquer des restrictions d’appareil pour améliorer la sécurité BYOD et assurer un accès sécurisé aux données de l’entreprise, ou veiller à ce que les appareils respectent certaines normes de sécurité organisationnelle.

Gestion des applications d’entreprise

On peut créer un référentiel d’applications qui contient la série d’applications à installer sur les appareils d’un employé. Des applications commerciales ( Android, iOS, Windows 10, Chrome OS), voire internes à l’entreprise), qui ne sont pas disponibles en téléchargement public sur Internet peuvent être proposées au personnel en les diffusant grâce à MDM. On peut préconfigurer des paramètres et des autorisations pour les applications (plateformes iOS, Android et Windows 10), ce qui permet de les utiliser dès l’installation avec une intervention minimale de l’utilisateur.

La solution s’intègre aussi à Android Enterprise (également connu sous le nom de Managed Google Play), Apple Business Manager (connu auparavant sous le nom de Programme d’achat en volume Apple), Windows Business Store, et Chrome Web Store pour garantir une installation/mise à jour/désinstallation en mode silencieux des applications sans intervention de l’utilisateur. Pour ce faire, les appareils doivent être supervisés dans le cas d’iOS et activés en tant que propriétaire de l’appareil dans le cas d’Android.

Mise à jour des appareils

Une gestion BYOD efficace suppose d’analyser régulièrement les appareils pour extraire des infos de base comme la version du système d’exploitation ou les applications installées afin de vérifier que les appareils accédant aux données de l’entreprise respectent ses normes de conformité. Si un appareil exécute une version obsolète du système d’exploitation, on peut le mettre à jour automatiquement, voire planifier l’opération à un moment précis, grâce au MDM. On garantit ainsi que la mise à jour du système d’exploitation n’interrompt pas le temps de travail des utilisateurs, d’où une meilleure productivité.

Les appareils étant portables et pratiques, il existe un grand risque de perte/vol/égarement. Dans ce cas, l’administrateur utilise la solution pour verrouiller à distance l’appareil afin d’éviter un accès non autorisé aux données et de le localiser. Si l’appareil a été égaré dans les locaux de l’organisation, il peut déclencher une alarme à distance pour mieux le repérer. Si l’appareil a été volé/perdu, il peut activer un mode perte qui le verrouille automatiquement. On peut configurer l’écran de l’appareil verrouillé pour afficher un numéro de téléphone, un bouton d’appel et un message personnalisé afin que celui qui trouve l’appareil puisse facilement contacter son propriétaire légitime. Pour veiller à empêcher le déverrouillage de l’appareil du mode perte en indiquant son code secret, la solution permet de réinitialiser ce code. Enfin, l’administrateur peut choisir d’effacer l’appareil pour éviter une utilisation abusive des données.

Enhancing BYOD security with Lost Mode on BYOD devices

De plus, si l’employé rencontre un problème sur l’appareil alors qu’il ne se trouve pas dans les locaux de l’organisation, l’administrateur peut dépanner à distance l’appareil en affichant son écran ou le commandant. Pour veiller à en avertir pleinement l’utilisateur, la solution l’invite à accepter une session distante ou, dans le cas d’iOS, l’employé doit exécuter certaines tâches sur l’appareil pour lancer une session.

Lorsqu’un employé quitte l’organisation, on peut désaffecter automatiquement l’appareil, ce qui efface les données professionnelles tout en conservant celles personnelles.

 

Simplify BYOD management with Remote Control using MDM

 

Voulez-vous protéger votre environnement BYOD ?

Évaluez gratuitement pendant 30 jours Mobile Device Manager Plus, la solution MDM pour le BYOD de ManageEngine, pour simplifier la gestion BYOD et renforcer la sécurité.

Démarrer l’évaluation gratuite

Bring your own device (BYOD) - Definition

BYOD stands for bring your own device. It's an evolving of trend where employees bring their personal devices to work and use it for work, instead of only corporate owned devices. 

Let's take a look at how organizations can simplify BYOD management and secure corporate data on personally-owned (BYOD) devices using ManageEngine's BYOD solution, Mobile Device Manager Plus

This document covers the following:

What is BYOD?

BYOD or bring your own device is a growing trend of consumerization of IT, where employees use their personal devices for accessing business-critical data, instead of the corporate-owned devices. Other variations of BYOD include bring your own laptop (BYOL), bring your own computer (BYOC), bring your own apps (BYOA) and bring your own PC (BYOPC). This means organizations now encourage their employees to use their personal devices such as laptops, mobile devices or tablets to access corporate data on the go.

How does BYOD work?

With BYOD, mobile devices which were previously considered as Shadow IT or devices that were not supported by the organization's IT are now becoming an integral part of every organization. While BYOD remains both an opportunity to improve employee productivity by allowing them to work on the go, it brings along with it numerous security challenges. To overcome the challenges introduced by BYOD, organizations must develop a BYOD policy to simplify BYOD management and fortify security of BYOD deployments.

Bring your own device (BYOD) Security and Policies

The major advantages of BYOD is it helps enhance employee productivity by allowing users to access corporate data on the go. But, it also increases the chances of unauthorised data access and data breaches since mobile devices are prone to being lost or stolen and can also be connected to unsecured networks. That's why organizations that are planning to embrace BYOD must analyse all the challenges introduced by BYOD and define a plan of action to execute a BYOD policy in their organization to secure their corporate data.

The BYOD policy outlines critical security considerations such as the type of devices that are sanctioned by the organization, the employees who can leverage the BYOD trend, and the data that can be accessed from these devices. The success of the BYOD trend in an organization completely depends on how the BYOD policy is designed and implemented.

BYOD management with a BYOD solution

While developing a BYOD policy can allow your organization to fortify BYOD security, it's also essential for organizations to make provisions for BYOD management. BYOD management usually involves onboarding the devices, ensuring the devices have the required policies, apps and content, troubleshooting device issues, managing OS updates and deprovisioning devices when the user leaves the organization. As the number of organizations embracing BYOD increases, bring your own device management or BYOD management is becoming as vital as the management of corporate devices. With the help of a BYOD software, organizations can manage employees personal devices and approve the devices that can access corporate data

Advantages and benefits of bring your own device (BYOD)

Here are a few advantages of BYOD and how it's helping organizations improve employee productivity.

  • No learning curve: As the employees are already adept in using these devices, there's absolutely no learning curve and the users can immediately start work. This technology familiarity helps improve employee satisfaction and efficiency.
  • Remote access to corporate data: Using personal devices ensures uninterrupted access to corporate data, thereby enhancing employee productivity by allowing them to work from anywhere and at any time.
  • Cost-efficient: As employees bring in their personal devices, the organization need not procure new devices, thus reducing the overhead expenses to be borne by the organization.

Disadvantages of a BYOD setup

To build an effective BYOD policy, organizations must first understand the challenges associated with BYOD management and security.

  • Security: As corporate data is stored alongside personal data and apps, it increases the chances of unauthorised data sharing.
  • Loss of device: While corporate devices are usually restricted to the organization's premises, the same is not true for personal devices, making them more susceptible to theft and loss. This increases the chances of unauthorised data access.
  • Device Disparity: Corporate devices provided by organizations are usually procured from a single or couple of OEM vendors. However, in a BYOD setup, where employees use their personal devices, the organizations must make provisions to manage different types of mobile devices.
  • Privacy: From employees' perspective, organizations taking control of their devices for management, might be considered as an infringement on their privacy.

This is why it is essential for organizations to create a stringent BYOD policy or better yet, deploy a mobile device management solution to tackle the hidden BYOD security risks and BYOD management.

Why is BYOD management important?

While designing a BYOD policy and educating the users about the BYOD best practices can reduce the chances of data breaches and unauthorised data access, organizations must also consider the overall management of personally-owned devices. IT admins must ensure that the required security policies are in place and that users don't access the corporate data using unauthorised devices. This is where BYOD management plays a key role.

The easiest way to manage BYOD deployments, is using a BYOD solution. It provides organizations a unified console to bring devices under management, apply security policies, distribute enterprise approved app and share the required corporate content on devices. It also helps IT admins in simplifying device maintenance and deprovisioning devices when the employee leaves the organization by ensuring all the corporate data is wiped from the devices.

ManageEngine's Mobile Device Manager Plus, doubles as a BYOD solution that allows you to securely manage corporate and personally-owned devices from a unified console.

How to secure bring your own devices with Mobile Device Manager Plus?

Mobile Device Manager Plus is a complete mobile device management solution that can be used as a BYOD MDM by organizations to simplify corporate device and BYOD management from a single console. It also allows organizations to enhance BYOD security by protecting the corporate data stored on these devices. The following capabilities of Mobile Device Manager Plus help address the challenges of BYOD management and security.

  • Simple and quick onboarding
  • MDM provides appropriate onboarding methods to help in easy device enrollment. The IT admin needs to send an enrollment invite via e-mail or SMS and the employees can follow the instructions to enroll their devices within minutes. This BYOD solution ensures that the user is authenticated before onboarding the user's device. Authentication is done using the Active Directory (AD) credentials of the employee or simply using a one-time password (OTP) or both. Yet another option is the self-enrollment method, where employees can enroll their devices by accessing the enrollment link from the organization's public forum/ self-service portal. Further, as MDM can handle device disparity, multiple platforms (iOS, macOS, tvOS, Android, Windows 10, and Chrome OS) and multiple device types (smartphones, tablets, laptops, and desktops) can be managed effortlessly from a single console.

  • Efficient management of personal devices
  • In organizations which have a mix of corporate and personal devices being used, the IT admins need to configure separate set of policies for each category. This can become cumbersome when dealing with a large number of devices. MDM allows clustering of personal devices into groups after which specific policies and apps can be distributed easily. Thus a clear segregation between the management of personal and corporate devices is ensured. Once the policy is associated, any time a personal device is brought under management, the IT admin simply needs to add the the device to the group and all the policies will get applied on it automatically. In case the employee has moved to a different department the device can be moved to a different group pertaining to the department, which automatically revokes the policies previously applied and implements the new ones on the device.

  • Secure corporate data without affecting user privacy
  • MDM supports containerization of corporate data on BYOD by creating a logical container that segregates corporate and personal data stored on devices. IT admins will only be able to control the corporate data on the devices while leaving the employee's personal data untouched. Organizations can restrict unauthorised sharing of corporate data between corporate and personal apps, unauthorised devices and third-party cloud apps/services. Thus, using MDM as the BYOD solution permits both personal and corporate data to co-exist on devices. Furthermore, the corporate data is encrypted and stored in the containers to ensure security. Learn more about containerization in Android and containerization in iOS devices.

    Containerization to segregate corporate and BYOD application on bring your own device

  • Pre-configure access and security policies
  • Basic configurations for Wi-Fi, E-mail, Exchange ActiveSync (EAS) etc, can be predefined on the devices using MDM. This saves time and helps improve work productivity of employees. Device restrictions. can also be applied to enhance BYOD security and ensure secure access to corporate data and/or to ensure devices adhere to certain organizational security standards.

  • Managing corporate apps
  • An App Repository can be created within MDM that contains the required set of apps to be installed on the employee's devices. Store apps (Android, iOS, Windows 10, Chrome OS) and even in-house (enterprise apps) that are not available for public download on the Internet can be made available to the employees by distributing them using the MDM. Settings and permissions for the apps can be preconfigured (supported for iOS, Android and Windows 10), thereby making them ready to use on installation with minimal user intervention.

    MDM also integrates with Android Enterprise (also referred to as Managed Google Play), Apple Business Manager (previously known as Apple Volume Purchase Program), Windows Business Store, and Chrome Web Store to ensure that apps can be silently installed/ updated/ uninstalled without any user intervention. For this, the devices need to be Supervised in the case of iOS and provisioned as Device Owner in the case of Android.

  • Device maintenance
  • For effective BYOD management, the devices can be scanned periodically to fetch basic device data such as OS version, apps installed, etc., in order to ensure the devices accessing corporate data adhere to organization compliance standards. In case a device is running an outdated OS version, the OS can be updated automatically or even scheduled to take place at a specific time, using the MDM. This ensures that the OS updates do not interrupt the work hours of the users, helping them to be more productive.

    As the devices are handy and portable, there are high chances of them being lost/stolen/misplaced. In such a situation, IT admins can use MDM to remotely lock the device to prevent unauthorized data access and also fetch its location. In case the device has been misplaced within the organization's premises, a remote alarm can be triggered on the devices to help retrieve it. In case the device is lost/stolen, Lost Mode can be enabled on the device which will automatically lock it down. The locked device screen can be configured to show a phone number, a call button, and a customized message to make it easier for anyone finding the device to contact its rightful owner. To ensure device cannot be unlocked from Lost Mode by providing the device passcode, the MDM provides the option of resetting the passcode. Lastly, the IT admin can choose to wipe the device to prevent misuse of data.

    Ensuring BYOD security with Lost Mode

    Further, in case the employee encounters an issue on the device while not being in the organization's premises, the IT admin can remotely troubleshoot the device by viewing the device screen or controlling it. To ensure user is fully aware of this, MDM prompts the user to accept a remote session or in case of iOS, the employee needs to perform certain functions on the device to initiate a session.

    When an employee leaves the organization, the device can be deprovisioned automatically which will wipe the corporate data while retaining the personal data.

Simplify BYOD management with Remote Control

 

Want to secure your BYOD deployments?

Give ManageEngine's BYOD MDM solution, Mobile Device Manager Plus a try free for 30 days and simplify BYOD management in your organization while securing corporate data.

Start Free Trial