Create Profiles

Profiles are created to impose one or more policies and restrictions to the managed devices/groups. You need to create separate profiles for iOS, Android and Windows devices respectively.Follow the steps mentioned below to create a profile.

  1. On the web console, navigate to Profiles
  2. Click Create Profile and choose the platform as iOS, Android or Windows, for which you wanted to create the profile.
    Provide the below mentioned basic information:

    1. Name of the Profile: Unique name to identify the profile

    2. Description: A brief description about the profile

    3. Customize Profile for (This is applicable only for Android) : In case of KNOX devices, apart from creating profile for Device, profiles can be created for KNOX containers by choosing the option KNOX Container. For all other Android devices, choose the option Device to create profile for devices.

  3. Click Continue

  4. Under Define Profile from the left pane, select the configuration profile ( iOS / Android / Windows ) and define the policies and restrictions of the profile. You will have to save the individual configurations before you move on to the next configuration within the same profile.

  5. After specifying the required configurations, click Publish.

    A published profile is not applied to any of the devices until they are associated to the devices or groups.

Associating multiple profiles to the same device

Let us assume you are associating two profiles to the same device:

Profile 1: Restricts camera and sets minimum passcode length as 4

Profile 2: Allows camera and sets minimum passcode length as 6

Let us see how the profiles get applied on the devices:


PLATFORM DESCRIPTION CAMERA MINIMUM PASSCODE LENGTH
iOS

Most secure combination of settings get applied

Restricted 6
Windows

Most secure combination of settings get applied

Restricted 6
Android

Most recent profile settings get applied

Allowed 6

Modify a profile

To modify a profile,

  1. On the web console, navigate to Profiles

  2. Under Profiles tab, you can view the list of all the profiles that have been created already.

  3. Click on the ellipsis icon under the Actions column, of the profile that you want to modify and select Modify Profile from the dropdown. You can add or remove configurations from the profile.

  4. After making the required changes, click Save to save the changes.

  5. Click Publish to save the changes made to the Profile.

When a profile is modified and published, it is not applied to the devices to which they were applied before. A new version of the profile is listed, you can upgrade the latest version to the group, so that the current members of the group will have the latest version of the profile applied to them.  The previous version of profile will be overwritten by the latest version.  

Moving a profile to Trash

When you want to delete a profile associated with devices/groups, you can simply move the profile to Trash. Moving profiles to Trash ensures the profiles are automatically disassociated from the devices/groups. These profiles are automatically deleted after 90 days. The profiles can also be deleted or restored manually from Trash by the user. However, the restored profiles don't automatically get associated with the previously associated groups/devices. These restored profiles can be associated to the devices/groups.

The following steps explain the moving of profiles to Trash:

  1. On the web console, navigate to Profiles

  2. Under Profiles tab, you can view the list of all the profiles that have been created already.

  3. Select the profiles to be moved to Trash
  4. Click on the Move to Trash button and the profiles are moved to Trash.

The profiles can be viewed by clicking . The profiles can be deleted or restored from here.

Best Practices


See Also: Configure Mobile Device Manager Plus, Device Enrollment, Location Tracking,App Management,  Profile Management,  Asset Management, Security Management , Reports
Copyright © 2019, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.
ManageEngine