Sharing Individual Resources

PAM360 allows you to share your individual resources/resource groups with other users and user groups. When you share a resource, all the passwords of that particular resource will also be shared. You can grant varying permissions to users and user groups for password usage by choosing one of the following levels.

Share Permission Levels

View Passwords

Modify Passwords

Full Access

Users and User groups can access and use the passwords of the shared resources/ resource groups.

Users and User groups can both access and modify the passwords of the shared resources/resource groups. However, this privilege does not allow the users/user groups to change any other attribute of the resource.

Users and User groups can have the complete management of the shared resources/resource groups. They can even re-share the resources and the related account passwords with other users.

Note: The Default Group cannot be granted with Full Access permission.



How Precedence Works for Permission Levels

For password sharing permissions (View/Modify/Full Access), the lowest level of permission takes the highest precedence as explained below:

  1. Permissions set for individual accounts override the permissions set for a resource which the account is a part of.
    • For example, if a user account is granted with View permission for a password and the resource it is a part of gets Modify permission, this particular user account will still have only View permission to that password.
  2. Permissions set for a resource overrides the permissions set for a resource group which the resource is a part of.
    • For example, if a resource is granted with Modify permission for a password and the resource group it is a part of gets Full Access, then this particular resource will still have only Modify access to that password.
  3. Similarly, the share permission set for a user overrides that of a user group the user is a part of.
    • For example, if a particular user is granted with View only permission for a password and the user group it is a part of gets Full Access, then this particular user will still have only View access to that password.

Types of Sharing

  1. Sharing individual accounts with users/user groups

    1.1 Sharing individual accounts of a particular resource with users/user groups

  2. Sharing resources with users/user groups
  3. Sharing resource groups with user/user groups

1. Sharing Individual Accounts with Users/User Groups

Follow the below steps to share a particular account with user(s) or user group(s), with View or Modify permissions.

Note: Only two permission levels will be available while sharing individual accounts, as the Full Access permission is meant only for resources and resource groups.

  1. Navigate to Resources >> Passwords.
  2. Select the particular account of the resource that you want to share and click Account Actions beside it.
  3. From the Account Actions drop down, click either Share With Users or Share With User Groups depending on whether you want to share the account with users or user groups.
  4. In the pop-up box that appears, click the Grant option beside that user/user group with whom the account is to be shared. Choose either View Passwords or Modify Passwords as the permission level and click Save.


1.1 Sharing Individual Accounts of a Particular Resource with Users/User groups

Follow the below steps to share accounts of a particular resource with user(s) or user group(s), with View or Modify permissions.

  1. Navigate to the Resources tab.
  2. Click on the particular resource whose accounts you want to share.
  3. Under Account Details, click the Account Actions icon beside a particular account.

  4. In the pop-up box that appears, click the Grant option beside that user/user group with whom the account is to be shared. Choose either View Passwords or Modify Passwords as the permission level and click Save.

2. Sharing Resources with Users/User groups

Follow the below steps to share a resource with user(s) or user group(s) with any of the three permission levels - ViewModify, or Full Access.

  1. Navigate to the Resources tab.
  2. Select the particular resource to be shared and click Resource Actions beside it
  3. From the Resource Actions drop down, click either Share With Users or Share With User Groups depending on whether you want to share the account with users or user groups.
  4. In the pop-up box that appears, click the Grant option beside that user/user group with whom the account is to be shared. Choose from the permission levels: View Passwords, Modify Passwords, or Full Access, and click Save.


3. Sharing Resource Groups with Users/User Groups

Follow the below steps to share a resource group with user(s) or user group(s), with any of the three permission levels - View, Modify, or Full Access.

  1. Navigate to the Groups tab.
  2. Select the particular resource group to be shared and click the Actions drop down beside it.
  3. From the Actions drop down, click either Share With Users or Share With User Groups depending on whether you want to share the account with users or user groups.
  4. In the pop-up box that appears, click the Grant option beside that user/user group with whom the account is to be shared. Choose from the permission levels: View Passwords, Modify Passwords, or Full Access, and click Save.

Note: When you share a particular resource group with a user group, the resource group will be visible to all members of that user group. That means, all the resources and the accounts that are part of that resource group will be visible to all members of the user group. Also, the permissions granted to the user group (View, Modify or Full Access) will be applicable to all the members.

©2019, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.

Top