Single User Modification


 

This feature helps Active Directory administrators to locate and modify the attributes of any single user account. The added advantage is, administrators can use 'user modification templates' to specify:


  • The fields that should be visible to the Help Desk Technicians during the user modification process.
  • The fields that should be automatically updated during the user modification process.
  •  

    This feature also allows you to:

    - copy the attributes of an existing user account and update those values in the user account to be modified.

    - copy the attributes of an existing user account and create a new user account using the copied values.

    - Delete a user account.



    Procedure:

     

    In 'User Management', select the 'modify single user' option, locate the specific user account to be modified, choose the required 'user modification template', enter the required values and 'update the user' to complete the user modification process. To modify an existing user account or create a new one by using the settings of an existing user account, use the 'copy user attributes' option.

     


    Steps:

    1. Click on 'AD Mgmt' --> 'User Management'

    2. Under 'User Creation' click on 'Modify Single User'

    3. In the 'Modify Single User' page, choose the domain in which the user account that has to be modified is located.

    4. Locate the desired user account

      1. Using the search option, or
      2. By just clicking on 'Go' to list all the user accounts in the domain and then search for the specific user account from the resulting list.

    5. Once the required user is located, click the 'Modify User' button located in the 'Action' column of the user account.

    6. Click the drop down arrow located beside the modify user button to view the 'copy user' and 'delete user' options. Click the 'Copy User' button if you wish to copy the attributes of this user account and use it to create a new account. To delete the user account, click the 'Delete User' option.

    7. In the 'Modify User Properties' window that pops up on clicking the modify user button, select the required 'User Modification Template' using the 'Change' link located beside the 'Selected Template' option. (If you do not wish to use any specific template, you can continue with just the default template.)

    8. Enter the values for all the required attributes. If you wish to use values of specific attributes of an existing user account to populate the attributes of this user account, click the Copy User Attributes button, and follow these instructions.

    9. Click 'Preview'. This will list all the fields that will be modified along with their existing values and also the new values that they will be updated with.

    10. If you wish to make any more changes, click on the '<--' (back) button located on the top right corner to move back to the 'Modify User Properties' page.

    11. After making all the required changes, click on 'Update User' to save the changes to the user account and complete the user modification process.

     

     

    Using the 'delete' option:

    • Click the AD Mgmt tab.
    • Go to User Management. Under User Creation, click the Modify Single User link.
    • In modify single user page, select the domain in which the user account to be deleted is located. Locate the desired user account using the search option placed beside the domain.
    • Once you locate the desired user account, click the drop down arrow located beside the modify users button in the Action column of this user.
    • From the options displayed, click the Delete option.
    • In the pop up window that opens up, you will be asked whether you wish to configure a delete policy in case you don t have one in place. Click OK if you wish to configure one; else click Cancel.
      Delete policy allows you to specify whether users roaming and Terminal Service home folders and profiles, and mailboxes also have to be deleted while deleting the user account.
    • In the confirmation window that opens up, click OK to complete the deletion process.