Configuring Project Roles

     

    You can configure various Project roles with unique set of access permissions which can be assigned to Project Members.

     

    To access Project Roles configuration page,

    1. Click on the Admin tab in the header pane to open the configuration wizard page.

    2. Click on Project Roles icon proj-roles-icon under Project Management block. The Project Role List page displays the available roles.

    3. By default there are four project roles available, of which two are editable. The Project Admin and Task Manager are non-editable roles.

      • Project Admin would have full control over Project Module

      • Team Manager would have permission to work on Tasks assigned to him.

    1. You can add, edit and delete project roles from Project Role List page.

     

    Adding a Project Role

    1. Click the Add New Project Role link.

    2. Enter a unique name for the role in Role Name field. The Role Name is to identify the role and is a mandatory field.

    3. If you would like to inactivate the project role, select Inactive check box. You can uncheck this to activate the role again.

    4. Enter the Description for the role you are adding.

    5. Set the access permissions for the role. To set the access permission, just select the check boxes beside the access levels defined.

      NOTE: You can not uncheck Task View option as it is mandatory for a project role.

    6. You can also use Project Member allowed to view radio button to set access permissions for the project role. Based on the permissions configured the project member will be associated with anyone of the following: All Projects/Associated Projects/Associated Milestones/ Associated Tasks (pointed out by Project Member allowed to view radio button).

    7. Click Save. The role is displayed in the list view page. If you want to add another role, click Save and Add New button.

    At any point, if you decide not to add the new role, then click Cancel to get back to the role list.

     

      NOTE


    Users/Requesters (when they are imported in ServiceDesk Plus - MSP) can be assigned a default project role. These default project roles do not override project specific roles; they serve as default options when no project role is configured for the user/requester.

     

     

    Edit a Project Role

    To edit an existing role,

    1. In the Project Role List page, click the edit icon editiconbeside the role name that you want to edit.

    2. In the Edit Project Role form, you can modify the name of the role, description, and the permissions associated with the role.

    3. Click Save to save the changes. At any point, if you wish to cancel the operation that you are performing, click Cancel.

      While editing a role, if you wish to add a new role, then click Save and add new button.

     

    Deleting Project Role

    To delete a role,

    1. In the Project Role List page, click the delete icon deleteiconbeside the role name that you want to delete. A dialog box confirming the delete operation appears.

    2. Click OK to proceed with the deletion. If you do not want to delete the role, then click Cancel.

    3. If you would like to bulk delete Project Roles, select the roles to be deleted from the list by enabling the check box.

    4. Click Delete button. A dialog box confirming the delete operation appears.

    5. Click OK to proceed with the deletion.

    If the project role is used in a project, the project role is not deleted, instead it is grayed (made inactive) and will not be available for further usage.



     

     

    Copyright © 2017, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.