Configuring Roles

     

    Each technician accessing the help desk tool will have a set of permissions to execute specific tasks in the application. These access permissions are termed as Roles in ServiceDesk Plus. Roles are defined based on the various modules in the application.

    The Administrator has the privilege to create multiple roles and assign it to technicians based on the requirement. You can also view the list of technicians assigned to a particular role from the Role List View page.

     

    Note: Please note that Roles can be assigned to technicians alone. The Roles for requesters are pre-defined and hence cannot be configured.

     

    To open the role configuration page:

    1. Log in to the ServiceDesk Plus - MSP application using the user name and password of a ServiceDesk Plus - MSP administrator.

    2. Click the Admin tab in the header pane.

    3. On the Users block, click the Role iconrole-configurations. The next page displays the available list of roles. You can add, edit, or delete roles.

    Add Role

    To add a role,

    1. Click the Add New Role link to open the Add Role form.

    2. Enter the Role Name in the given text field. The Role Name has to be unique and is a mandatory field.

    3. Enter a brief description of the role in the Description field.

    4. Set the Access Permissions for the role by selecting the check boxes beside the access levels defined for each module of the application.

      Example:
      If you wish to provide full control permissions to the requests, inventory, contract and solutions module, then enable the check box below Full Control. This will automatically enable all the operations of the corresponding modules. You can provide add permission to the remaining modules by selecting the Add check box. Enabling the Add check box automatically enables the view permission.

      role-page

    1. The access permissions for request and purchase modules are further categorized and defined under Advanced Permission. Set the advanced permission for add, edit and delete operations by enabling the check box.

      • Adding/Editing Request Task: Permission to Add/Edit the request tasks.

      • Adding Requesters: Enabling this option will allow you to add new requesters on the fly while creating a new requests/problem/change. Adding requesters without this permissions pops up an error message stating "Requester Does not Exist".  

      • Resolving Request: Permission to change a request status to Resolved.

      • Disabling Stop Timer: Permission to allow a requester to change the status of a request to OnHold.

      • Merging Requests: Enable this option to provide permission to merge two or more requests.

      • Closing Request: Permission to change a request status to Closed.

      • Modifying Due Time: Permission to change the Due By Time and also the First Response Time of a request.

      • Modify Resolution: Enable this option to provide permission to edit a resolution. On disabling this option, the technician can only add the resolutions for a request without a resolution entry.

      • Re-opening Request: Permission to change the status of the request to Open from the previous state.

      • Assigning Technicians: Permission to allow a technician to assign or reassign a request to a technician.

      • Editing Requester: Permission to edit the requesters name while viewing the request.

      • Deleting Others Notes: Permission to edit/delete notes added by other users/technicians. If the option is disabled, then the technician can delete the notes added by him.

      • Deleting Others Time Entry: Permission to delete the Work order details entered by other users. If the option is disabled, then the Technician can only edit/delete his Work Order Entry.

      • Deleting Request Task: Permission to delete the request tasks of a request.  

    1. You can also choose to restrict the technician from viewing all the requests received by the application. To do this, select the corresponding radio button which will suit your need from the following,

      • All: The technician with this role can view all the requests and assets in ServiceDesk Plus - MSP.

      • All in associated Site: The Technician can view the requests and the assets of all his associated sites. To associate the site to the technician refer Technician.

      • All in Group & assigned to him: The technician will be restricted to view all the requests of the Group to which he/she belongs and also those requests that are assigned to him/her.

      • Assigned to him: The technician will be restricted to view the requests that are assigned to him/her.

        Example: A site has two groups, say Group1 and Group2. Adam is a technician associated to group1 with the privilege All in group & assigned to him enabled in the role assigned to him. With this restricted view enabled, Adam can view all the requests in Group1and the requests assigned to him. He has the privilege to re-assign the requests to other technicians in his associated sites but once this is executed, the request will not be visible to Adam.

    1. You can also provide permission to approve solutions in the role by enabling the check box beside Technician allowed to Approve solution. Thus the technician assigned with this role will be able to approve solutions.  

    2. Click Save. If you want to add more just one role, click Save and add new button.  

    At any point, if you decide not to add the new role, then click Cancel to get back to the role list. Clicking the View List link on the top right corner of the add role form will also take you to the role list view.

     

    Edit Role

    To edit an existing role,

    1. In the Role List page, click the edit iconEdit Iconbeside the role name that you wish to edit. This opens the Edit Role form.

    2. You can modify the name of the role, description, and the permissions associated with the role.

    3. Click Save to save the changes. At any point, if you wish to cancel the operation that you are performing, click Cancel.

    Even while editing a role, if you wish to add a new role, then click the Save and add new button. The Add Role form opens after displaying a message that the changes are saved.

     

    Viewing Technicians Assigned to a Role

    To view technicians assigned to a role,

    1. In the Role List page, click View Technicians configured with this Role icon tech_role_icon.

    2. The Role to Technicians pop up appears listing the number of technicians configured with this role. The names of the technicians are also displayed.

     

    Delete Role

    1. In the Role List page, click the delete icondeleteiconbeside the role name that you wish to delete. A confirmation dialog is opened.

    2. Click OK to proceed with the deletion. If you do not want to delete the role, then click Cancel.

    3. If technicians are assigned with the role, then the Technician List is displayed in a popup window.

    4. You can notify the technician by selecting the technician and clicking Send Notification check box. The e-mail address of the technician appears in the To filed. You can add CC recipients for this notification, if required. Enter the Subject and Description. Click OK. The notification is sent to the technician.

    Note: You cannot edit or delete the SDAdmin and SDGuest roles that are already defined in the application. They are the default administrator and requester roles defined.

     

    Copyright © 2017, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.