What is Request Life Cycle (RLC)?

Any request in ServiceDesk Plus goes through various statuses such as Open, On hold, Waiting for an update, Resolved, and Closed. With RLC, you now can define the next “available” statuses and “how” a ticket can move from one status to another using Transitions.

request life cycle
Play video

What is a Transition?

Transitions are “conditional actions” required to move on to the next status. We can execute these conditions before, during, or after a transition.

How to start using RLC?

RLC is available under Admin > Helpdesk Customizer > Request Life Cycle

Associate Request life cycle Marker one
Service request status flow Marker two
Define request lifecycle transitions Marker three
Request lifecycle configuration Marker four
Implement request life cycle Marker five
RLC video tutorial

Video tutorial

Take a quick tour of Request Life Cycle and how to configure transitions.

Online documentation

Admin guide

Read detailed step-by-step instructions to configure RLCs.

Putting RLC into practice

You can use RLC in your organization to:

Help technicians to navigate through RLC Marker one
Role based access restriction Marker two
Request additional request information Marker three
Automated email notifications Marker four
Abort ticket processing Marker five
Invoke custom scripts in request lifecycle process Marker six
Webinar on request lifecycle management

To learn more, here's a 45 minute webinar on RLC in which one of our product experts will take you on a detailed walk-through of RLC.

Upgrade and start using RLC

To start using RLC in your organization, upgrade to the latest build of ServiceDesk Plus.