Single User Modification

This feature enables AD administrators to locate and modify attributes of a single user account. An added advantage is the ability to use User Modification Templates, which allow administrators to define the specific fields that should be visible to Help Desk Technicians during the modification process, as well as the fields that should be automatically updated when changes are applied.

In addition, this feature allows administrators to Copy User Attributes from an existing user account to update another user account or to create a new user account using the copied values. Administrators can also delete user accounts, view the entitlements assigned to a user, and make precise, controlled updates.

How single user modification works

The Single User Modification feature works by allowing administrators to first locate a specific user account (by searching for them or by using the Filter by option) and then modify the required attributes. Administrators can optionally apply a user modification template to control which fields are visible to Help Desk Technicians and which attributes are automatically updated, ensuring consistency and secure, role-based modifications. Administrators can also copy attributes, view the user's assigned entitlements, or delete the user account if required. Once the changes are confirmed, the updates are applied directly to AD.

Steps to modify a single user

  1. Navigate to Management > User Management.
  2. Click Modify Single User under User Modification.
  3. In the Modify Single User page, choose the Domain in which the user account that is to be modified is located from the dropdown.
  4. Locate the desired user account by either using the search option or by using the Filter by option to sort results as per the selected alphabet.
  5. Once the required user is located, it can be modified, copied, or deleted using the options under the dropdown in the Action column of the user account. Select Modify User to modify user properties of the selected user account. Select Copy User to copy the attributes of this user account and use it to create a new account. Select Delete User to delete the user account.
  6. Upon selecting Modify User, a window with the user properties will open up.
  7. Select the required User Modification Template from the dropdown under Select Template. If you do not wish to use any specific template, you can continue with just the default template, System Template, and select OK.
  8. Click Access Recommendations to receive smart suggestions for adding users to groups with similar attributes.

    Note To view this option, navigate to Admin > General Settings > Security and Privacy > Privacy Settings > Enable Password Protection and check the Show Access Recommendations box.

  9. Click Copy User Attributes to copy the attributes of an existing user to modify this user. In the Copy Object window, you can search for the user whose attributes are to be copied. Clicking the user's SAM Account Name displays the attributes being copied. You can also choose to copy specific attributes by using the Select Attributes icon located beside the name.
  10. Use the Show Entitlements option to view entitlements of the selected user.
  11. Mailboxes can be added or removed for users in the Exchange tab by selecting between Remove Mail, MailBox Enabled User, and Mail Enabled User.
  12. Remote mailbox can be disabled/enabled for users in the Remote Mailbox tab. Enabling remote mailbox for users allows administrators to configure the remote mailbox and set delivery restrictions.
  13. Enter the values for all the required attributes. To populate attributes using values from an existing user account, click Copy User Attributes and follow the instructions provided.
  14. Click Preview to view a list of all the fields that were modified with their existing and updated values.
  15. Click Back (located on the top-right corner) to continue modifying the user account. Otherwise, click Update User to save the changes to the user account and complete user modification.

Steps to delete a single user

  1. Navigate to Management > User Management.
  2. Click Modify Single User under User Modification.
  3. In the Modify Single User page, choose the Domain in which the user account that is to be modified is located from the dropdown.
  4. Locate the desired user account by either using the search option or by using the Filter by option to sort results as per the selected alphabet.
  5. Once the required user is located, select Delete User from the dropdown in the Action column of the user.
  6. In the pop-up window that opens up, click OK if you want to configure a delete policy. Otherwise, click Cancel.
  7. In the confirmation window that opens up, click OK to complete the deletion process.