Elasticsearch

RecoveryManager Plus stores AD and Exchange (on-premises and Exchange Online) backups in Elasticsearch databases. When you install RecoveryManager Plus, an Elasticsearch database named RMP-NODE1 is also created. This database cannot be deleted, modified or moved. You can add new nodes whenever needed. But they can be added only on a machine in which ReocveryManager Plus is not installed.

You can perform the following actions from this tab:

Add new nodes

  • Navigate to Admin tab → Repository → Elasticsearch.
  • Click on the Add Node button located in the top-right corner.
  • Provide a name for the repository.
  • Provide the name of the server in which you want to install the new Elasticsearch database.
  • Note: Ensure that the server has 64-bit architecture.

  • Provide the user name and password of an admin. Click Verify Credentials to check If the provided credentials has enough privilege.
  • Provide the location where you want to install Elasticsearch.
  • Provide a TCP Port to enable communication between RecoveryManager Plus and the server.
  • Note: If you have enabled firewall, make sure the specified port is added in the firewall's inbound rules.

  • Set a JVM Heap Size.
  • Note: JVM heap size must be at least 1GB. Also, JVM heap size cannot be more than 50% of target machine’s usable RAM size.

  • Click Save.

Manage existing nodes

You can view the following information for any configured node:

  • Name of the repository.
  • Server in which the repository is present.
  • Total and used storage space in the node.
  • Status of connected repository.

In addition to the above details, information such as the machine name, IP address, size of backup files and other files, uptime, JVM heap size and location can be viewed by clicking on the View Details link against any node.

Once a node has been added, you can perform the following functions:

Refresh node details

  • Click on the icon located in the actions column of the node.

Edit node details

  • Click on the icon located in the action column.
  • Modify the required fields and click Save.
  • Note: The RMP-NODE1 cannot be edited.

Move repository data

This option can be used to move the backup data from one node to another. It is to be noted that once the backup data has been moved from one node to another, all subsequent backup files will also be stored in the new node, irrespective of where you had decided to store the backups when creating the backup schedule.

To move the repository data from one node,

  • Click on the icon located in the actions column.
  • In the pop-up that appears, select the repository to which you wish to move the data from the drop-down and click OK.

To see the list of repository migrations you’ve already performed, click the Repository Migration History link.

Delete node

  • Click on the icon located in the action column.
  • In the pop-up that appears, you can choose to move the backup data stored in the node to another node. If the data is not moved, the backup files will be erased permanently and cannot be used to perform restorations.
  • Note: The RMP-NODE1 cannot be deleted.

Configure notification settings

You can configure RecoveryManager Plus to send out email notifications when a node is inactive or when free space goes below a set threshold.

To configure mail notifications,

  • Click on the Settings button located in the top-right corner of the screen.
  • Select the options for which you’d like to receive notifications and click Save.
Get download link