Support
 
Phone Live Chat
 
Support
 
US: +1 888 720 9500
US: +1 800 443 6694
Intl: +1 925 924 9500
Aus: +1 800 631 268
UK: 0800 028 6590
CN: +86 400 660 8680

Direct Inward Dialing: +1 408 916 9393

 
 
 
 
 
Knowledge Base

How to delete inactive Office 365 users and remove their licenses

Objective: To delete active/inactive Office 365 users and remove their licenses

Solution: ADManager Plus allows you to remove Office 365 users and the licenses in two ways

  • Configuring the Office 365 settings in Delete Policy and delete the desired active users.
  • Delete inactive users by importing from Office 365 reports and remove Licenses in Assign/Remove Licenses feature in Office 365 management.

A. To configure the Office 365 settings in Delete Policy.

  1. Click Admin tab
  2. Under Custom Settings, Select Delete / Disable Policy.
  3. Select the domain in which you want to configure the Delete / Disable Policy.
  4. Select the Delete Policy tab. Under O365/G Suite, select the check box against Delete Office 365 Account. Selecting this option will also remove the Office 365 licenses associated with the accounts.
  5. Once the Delete Policy is configured in the Admin settings, the next step is to create automation for deleting the users.

B. To Delete a single user.

  1. For deleting a single user, click on AD Mgmt. tab → User Management. Under User Creation section, select Modify Single User.
  2. Under Modify Single User, select the desired domain and search for the users you want to delete from the displayed users or by entering the name of the user in the text box and clicking search icon.
  3. Once the desired user is selected, under Actions click on Downward arrow near Modify User → Delete User.
  4. Click Yes to the Do you want to delete the selected users and their folder properties as defined in 'delete policy'? for the configured Office 365 settings to take effect.

C. To Delete bulk users.

  1. Go to User Management → Bulk User Modification → Delete Users.
  2. Select the desired domain and OU from the Select Domain and Add OUs option.
  3. The users can be found by entering the name of the user in the text box and clicking Search, by importing a CSV file, or by simply clicking the search function.
  4. Choose the desired user/users by clicking the checkbox against them and click Apply.
  5. Click Yes to Do you want to delete the selected users and their folder properties as defined in 'delete policy'? for the above Office 365 settings configured to take effect.

To delete inactive users by importing from Office 365 reports and remove Licenses in Assign/Remove Licenses feature in Office 365 management.

D. To delete Inactive users.

  1. Click AD Reports tab.
  2. Go to Office 365 Reports → Office 365 User Reports → Inactive Users.
  3. Select the desired Office 365 Account and choose the inactive period based on your preference. Click Generate.
  4. Select Export → CSV to export the report in CSV format.
  5. Go to User Management → Bulk User Modification → Delete Users.
  6. Select the desired domain and OU from the Select Domain and Add OUs option.
  7. The inactive users report CSV file can be imported by clicking the CSV Import option and choosing the file. Click Go.
  8. Select the desired inactive user(s) by selecting the checkbox against them and click Apply. The selected inactive users will be deleted.

Below listed steps explain how to remove licenses:

  1. Click AD Mgmt. Tab.
  2. Go to Office 365 Management → Office 365 Management → Assign / Remove Licenses.
  3. To import the CSV file containing inactive users from the saved location, select Import CSV option and Choose File.
  4. The users with inactive Office 365 accounts and the corresponding license details will be displayed.
  5. Click Configure Licenses.
  6. Select all users for which the licenses has to be removed.
  7. Under the Assign / Remove licenses drop down, select Remove all licenses.
  8. Choose User Location from the drop down list.
  9. Once the options have been selected, click Apply to save the changes.

Note: When an Office 365 account is removed, the licenses associated with the account will be removed after a specified set time. However the purpose of freeing up the licenses in the Assign / Remove Licenses is to reuse the licenses for new users.

 

Request Support

Need further assistance? Fill this form, and we'll contact you rightaway.

  • Name
  • Email*
  • Phone Number
  • Country
  • Problem Description
  •  
    By clicking 'Submit', you agree to processing of personal data according to the Privacy Policy.
  •  

Select a language to translate the contents of this web page:

ADManager Plus Trusted By

The one-stop solution to Active Directory Management and Reporting
Email Download Link