Windows Configurations

You can use Desktop Central to complete different tasks like scanning for patches and inventory. However, to complete tasks like installing patches, changing the wallpaper of desktops in all the computers in your network, sending custom messages to users in your network, and installing software applications you must create configurations and deploy them to the computers in your network.

The following sections provide information required to configure various Windows-application settings, security settings, display settings, and firewall settings for Windows users and computers:

Defining Configurations

Configurations can be defined for computers or users. You can define a configuration from scratch or use predefined configuration templates. You can also create a group of configurations and deploy them as a collection.

Defining configurations is a four-step process. It comprises the following steps:

  1. Enter a name and description for the configuration
  2. Define the configuration. This includes setting the following:
  3. Define a target
  4. Configure execution settings

After you define a configuration, you must apply it to specific computers in your network.

Top

Applying Configurations

When you deploy a configuration using Desktop Central, the configuration settings along with the required files will be stored in the Desktop Central server. Desktop Central agents, which are installed in the client computers in your network, will contact the Desktop Central server to collect this information and apply the configurations to specific client computers. The agents will contact the server during the following intervals to collect the required information:

Re-applying Failed Configurations

When you deploy a configuration to client computers, the deployment could fail in a few computers due to various reasons. In such cases, you can re-deploy the configuration. Desktop Central enables you to automate the redeployment process through the Execution Settings option. This option enables you to do the following:

Based on the specified input, configurations will be re-deployed on the computers on which the deployment failed till  either of the following takes place:


You can change the retry count using the Change Retry Count button. However, this button is not visible in the summary of suspended configurations. For more information, see Defining Execution Settings

Top

Reverting Configurations

Desktop Central does not take backup of the settings that you make when you create configurations. Therefore, it is very important that you remember the settings you have made. In most cases, you cannot revert the configuration. However, you can modify the settings that you had made earlier and re-deploy the configuration.

Examples

You can modify configurations and re-deploy them in the following scenarios:

The package must have an uninstall string.

 

Top
Copyright © 2005-2014, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.
ManageEngine