Endpoint Central allows you to configure certain configuration settings, that will determine how and when a configuration is deployed to its target machines, and also how it behaves before/after the deployment. When configurations are deployed to an OU/Group, the target is dynamically adjusted to ensure that newly joined computers receive the same configurations as those in the OU/Group already. You can control the deployment frequency and set an interval to automatically move inactive configurations to the trash, with the option to specify the number of days before permanent deletion.
Navigate to Configurations->Configuration Settings in the product console.
When computer/user is added to the OU/Group, Apply configuration(s) during:
- System Startup/User Logon: Whenever a computer is moved to the target OU/Group, the configurations will be applied during the subsequent system startup/user logon.
- During Refresh Cycle after <> hours: You can specify a time interval for the configurations to be applied. Whenever a computer is moved to the OU/Group, then the configurations will be applied during the next refresh cycle after the specified time interval.
Display a target confirmation message during configuration deployment
- When the selected target is Domain - Enabling this will show a confirmation message during a domain-based configuration deployment.
- When the selected target is Remote Office - Enabling this will show a confirmation message during a remote office-based configuration deployment.
Add Device Friendly Name filter under 'Define Target'
- Device Friendly names are used to differentiate between devices of the same make and model.
- When multiple computers with the same name are managed in Endpoint Central, the device friendly name can be used to target computers.
- The device friendly name can be customized for each computer by navigating to Agent -> SoM Settings.
- When this is enabled, the device friendly names are displayed under the Targets view.
Configuration cleanup Settings
A configuration is said to be unused, based on the criteria explained below:
- If the configuration is not modified and there is no change in the status of the configuration
- If the configuration creation date exceeds a specified time period and there is no change in the status of the configuration
- If the configuration was deployed to be applied once and it has been applied on all chosen targets.
The cleanup settings are
- Automatically move configuration to Trash, if they are unused for : You can specify the time interval after which all the unused configurations will be moved to Trash.
- Permanently delete configurations which are in trash for : Whenever a configuration has been deleted manually, the configuration will be moved to Trash View. Configurations removed from the Trash View cannot be retrieved.