Important Change in the Design of Criteria-based Dynamic Resource Groups:
From build 9000 onwards, for criteria-based dynamic resource groups, criteria will be applied only on the resources owned by the group owner and on the resources owned by the administrators who have manage permission to the group. Criteria will not be applied on the shared resources.
This represents a significant change from the existing design. At present, criteria gets applied on all resources that are owned by the user who is creating the group and on the ones shared with "Manage" permission. Shared resources are being excluded in the new version. Once you move to the latest version, some resources that were part of a criteria-based dynamic group created by you would have been removed from the group due to this change.
In the new design too, administrators who have access to the dynamic group with "Manage" permission (henceforth known as "Full Access" permission) shall be able to add the resources owned by them to the group. That means, the resources owned by them shall become part of the dynamic group upon satisfying the criteria.
Following example would illustrate the scenario better:
- Assume "Admin 1" is creating a dynamic group specifying a criteria. All resources owned by that admin that satisfy the criteria specified, shall become part of the dynamic resource group. The resources that are shared with Admin 1 WILL NOT become part of the group, even if they satisfy the criteria.
- Assume "Admin 1" shared the dynamic group with "Admin 2" with "Full Access" (Manage) permission. Now, "Admin 2" will be able to see all the resources that are part of the dynamic group created by "Admin 1". In addition, all the resources owned by "Admin 2" that satisfy the criteria specified shall become part of the dynamic group. Now, "Admin 1" shall be able to view the resources added by "Admin 2" to the group.
- If "Admin 1" shares the dynamic group with "Admin 2" with any other permission (View, Modify), the resources owned by "Admin 2" will not be added to the group even if they satisfy the criteria.
Take a backup of the entire Password Manager Pro installation folder and store it in some other location. If something goes wrong with the upgrade, you can revert back to this copy, with your settings intact. Additionally, take a backup of the Password Manager Pro database.
Click 'here' for a quick, informative overview of the new UI.