Configuring System Health Policy

What is System Health Policy?

Desktop Central periodically scans the systems in your network to identify the missing patches. The missing patches include both the operating system and third party application patches pertaining to that system. Generally, patches are released with varying severities ranging from Low to Critical. Based on these patch severities, Desktop Central classifies the system into three categories to quickly identify the health status of the systems in the network. Health policy of the systems are calculated based on the missing security updates and third party updates. It is recommended to deploy all the security and third party updates to maintain the health status of the systems.  If you do not want a specific missing patch, to impact the system health status, then you can choose to decline the patch. Patches that are declined will not be considered for the System Health Status calculation.

How are the systems classified?

Based on the severity of the missing patches, the systems are categorized as Healthy, Vulnerable, and Highly Vulnerable in Desktop Central. The default health policy is as below:

Note: The patches that are declined will not be considered for arriving at the system health status.

Customizing the Health Policy

Desktop Central allows you to customize this categorization by selecting the patch severity levels for various health states as below:

  1. Select the Admin tab.

  2. Click the System Health Policy link available under Patch Settings.

  3. Select the patch severity levels that are allowed for each states and click Save Changes.

Note: It may be noted that you will not be allowed to select the same patch severity in different health statuses, i.e, if you select Low for Healthy Systems, you will not be allowed to select Low option for Vulnerable and Highly Vulnerable states.


Copyright © 2005-2015, ZOHO Corp. All Rights Reserved.