Home » Announcement
 

Announcement

Announcement feature of Desktop Central allows system administrators to send announcements to all the users within the network. Announcements can be created to be displayed once or at scheduled intervals. Administrators can also customize the start and end date for displaying the announcements.

Creating an Announcement

  1. From your Desktop Central console, navigate to Tools tab -> Announcements -> Create Announcement.
  2. Provide the name for the announcement followed by the message you would like to convey.
  3. You can choose to display your message only once or multiple times between the time the you have specified.
  4. After defining the scheduler, you can choose to display the announcement to specific users or users in remote offices, domains or custom groups and save.

You have now successfully created an announcement.

Modifying an Announcement

You can modify the announcements that you have created by using the Actions button against every announcement. Upon modifying, the announcement will get deployed to all the users defined in the target.

Suspending an Announcement

  1. From Tools tab, click on Announcements.
  2. Select the Announcement that needs to be suspended
  3. Under Actions choose to Suspend

Your announcement has been successfully suspended. This announcement will not be displayed to the targets henceforth. You can resume this announcement to continue displaying to the users

Resuming an Announcement

  1. From Tools tab, click on Announcements.
  2. Select the Announcement that needs to be resumed.
  3. Under Actions click on Resume
  4. Click Save to save the changes.

Your announcement has been successfully resumed. This announcement will be displayed to the targets as per the schedule or to the users to which it was not displayed before.

Deleting an Announcement

  1. From Tools tab, click on Announcements.
  2. Select the Announcement hat needs to be deleted.
  3. Under Actions click on Delete

Your announcement has been successfully deleted. This announcement will not be displayed to any user henceforth.

FAQs

  1. What will happen if an announcement is scheduled to be displayed on a computer only once within a specific time period but the computer is inactive?
  2. What happens if I schedule an announcement for my users all at once?
  3. How can I create a new announcement by editing the existing one?
  4. What will happen when I suspend an announcement which is scheduled to be displayed only once?
  5. What will happen when an announcement is targeted to an user who is logged on in multiple computers?
  1. What will happen if an announcement is scheduled to be displayed on a computer only once within a specific time period but the computer is inactive?

    If an announcement is scheduled to be displayed on a computer only once within a specific time interval and the target computer is inactive during that time interval then the  status of the announcement will be displayed as "expired", which means, the announcement has not been displayed but the time limit has ended.
  2. What will happen if I deploy an announcement to users all at once?

    When you deploy an announcement to multiple users in bulk, your message will get displayed to first 200 users instantly and the rest will happen during 90-minute refresh policy.
  3. How can I create a new announcement by editing the existing one?

    You can follow the steps mentioned below to create a new announcement by editing the existing one:
    1. From Tools tab, click on Announcements.
    2. Select the Announcement that needs to be cloned
    3. Under Actions click on Save As New
    4. Make necessary changes and Click Save to create a new announcement.
  4. What will happen when I suspend an announcement which is scheduled to be displayed only once?

    If an announcement is suspended, then the announcement will not be displayed to the client computers henceforth. You can resume the announcement in future to continue displaying the announcement. However the announcement will be displayed only if the announcement's end date has not been reached and it will be displayed to computers to which this was not displayed.
  5. What will happen when an announcement is targeted to an user who is logged on in multiple computers?

  6. Announcement will be displayed on all the computers wherever the targeted user is logged on.